top of page
 UPCOMING EVENTS:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 FOLLOW sheryl wing: 
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
As a life long artist...

   I feel like I see the world differently. My eyes crave beauty and color in my everyday surroundings. I see the complex expanding patterns of nature in flowers and trees. I see symmetry and pleasing lines in the historic architecture of Maine buildings. I am overwhelmed by the natural landscapes of Maine's Lakes and mountains. I get lost in the rugged coastal views and harbors. I am compelled to paint, to create, to write, and help others see this extraordinary place through eyes wide open...

 

 RECENT POSTS: 

The Six Churches of Hallowell, Maine- Circa 1908.

I did a series of 6 watercolor ink drawings of the historic churches of Hallowell as they were in 1908. All of these buildings still stand today and except for the Universalist Church, are still operating churches.

This vintage postcard dated depicts six of Hallowell’s churches, circa 1908, and the inspiration for my ink and watercolor paintings.

Addressed simply to a Mrs. Eathel Parmeter, Augusta Me

Stamped Hallowell, ME Nov 2 -9am 1908.

On the back it reads- "Dear Eathel I will be up Weds. morning after you if it doesn’t storm. Your friend, PW."

Using the original postcard for inspiration, I used black watercolor ink to create each image on watercolor paper. Then added just a hint of watercolor to create the look of an old hand tinted postcard.

Below- Methodist Episcopal Church, now known as The Cox Memorial Church on Central St.

It is listed as a Heritage Landmark of The United Methodist Church.

Here is a link to a neat old article on this church: Cox Memorial Methodist

For more info on the history of this building and Melville Cox : History of Cox Memorial Church.

Below- The Church of the Sacred Heart on Summer Street, although this view is from Second Street. Church Parish established in 1889.

Here is a link to a wonderful old article about the history of Sacred Heart in Hallowell.

Below- Old South Congregational Church, Second Street.

This is the second church built on this site after a fire burned the previous wooden church. This current building was built of Hallowell granite and completed in 1885.

For more info , check out this link to Museum in the Streets : Old South History

And this is a great old article : Old South Congregational

Below- The Historic First Baptist Church of Hallowell. Built 1824

Here is an interesting article on the History of the First Baptist Church

Below- St. Matthew's Church built in 1860. Union Street.

For more on St. Matthew's history- stmatthewshallowell.org

Below - The Universalist Unitarian Church of Hallowell. The first UU church in the area in 1823 , this building is still standing, although long vacant. Recent efforts have been made to improve the building.

For an interesting link, check this out: Famous Unitarian Universalists

I am offering signed 8x10 matted Fine Art Giclee prints of each of these paintings. Printed on museum fine etching cotton paper and matted to fit in an 11x14 frame. Please contact me for more info: sheryl.ann.wing@gmail.com

Thank you for taking the time to view my artwork!

Check out the rest of my website! : SherylannWing Maine-artist

 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page